The Canary Islands, also known informally as the Canaries, are a Spanish autonomous community and archipelago in Macronesia in the Atlantic Ocean. At their closest point to the African mainland, they are 100 kilometres west of Morocco.

Canary Islands

Explore the Canary Islands

The seven main islands are (from largest to smallest in the area) Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, La Palma, La Gomera, and El Hierro. Everyone is different. The Canaries, especially Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura, and Lanzarote, are major tourist destinations for holidays, with over 12 million visitors per year. This is due to their beaches, subtropical climate, and important natural attractions, especially ravines, caves, Maspalomas dunes in Gran Canaria and hiking to Mount Teide (a World Heritage Site) in Tenerife.